RSS

My First E-Book Experience

27 Dec

All being well, His Brand Of Beautiful will be published as an e-book in the new year, so I figured it was time I owned a Kindle and thanks to hubby Santa, my wish came true.

I’ve just finished my first e-book. Ex and The Single Girl, by Lani Diane Rich. This was a freebie plugged on Jennifer Crusie’s website some time ago that I’ve had sitting in my Amazon store, just a-waitin’ the Kindle.

So, some first impressions of e-books v print books.

It is SO light. Amazingly so. No RSI in the wrists reading anymore. And when I put it on my bedside table, or the kitchen bench or any handy horizontal surface, well, I feel rather stylish. (Hey, I don’t feel stylish very often – work with me). It’s so very pretty in its little leather satchel!

Now if I had my choice again, I think I’d like a ‘touch screen’ option, rather than press buttons to turn pages. But that’s being picky. Sorry Santa.

The viewing quality is great. I was reading it outside yesterday and there wasn’t any glare from the overhead sun, and I’ve discovered how to make the font bigger… useful given the champagne downed in this house Christmas Day and Boxing Day.

Without making any comment on the book itself, it had a few formatting errors that were annoying. The scene breaks were non-existent, which meant every now and then I was completely thrown by paragraphs that continued a new scene from the ending of an old one. No paragraph space. No ****. Nothing. (My blog wants to throw in a line of white space below – but imagine if it was closed up and you’ll see what I mean.)

Here’s an example:

“Bastard.” I swiped an empty bottle of chardonnay off the coffee table and into the trash can, trying to work up some anger. It didn’t come. I put the trash by the door and wandered into my bedroom, falling asleep to thoughts of old flames and British Flyers.

“How’s that eggplant?” Peter asked. I looked down at my plate. I’d had one small bite and was still chewing.

See?

And hunting for that scene just told me a downfall of e-books. How do you quickly skim through to find a specific page/scene?

Aha! She says all-knowing, after five minutes of faffing about because my Kindle doesn’t have touch screen (sorry Santa for being ungrateful) pressing buttons… You can search the book for ‘eggplant’…

As a marketing module, this Kindle is amazing. Every time I close it, when I come back they are promoting a new title. I imagine they have a way of checking my profile on things such as Goodreads or books I’ve browsed at Amazon and they think, right, this girl’s a good fit for the latest Patricia Cornwell Scarpetta book, let’s see if we can sell it to her. Come in sucker…

After I’ve got rid of the marketing page about Patricia Cornwell’s new book, I’m at the same page where I left off. I don’t need bookmarks (proper ones that the kids giggle as they steal) or dog-eared pages that my husband grizzles at me about. I can lay this Kindle down whichever way I like and I don’t get nagged for ‘breaking that book’s back’.

The real test will be: will I read my Kindle in the loo? I have books that only ever get read in the loo. Right now I’m on Lord Of The Rings, so my loo-reading basket is well and truly full for at least another month. That’s a dang big book! If my Kindle makes it to the toilet, it will be my best booky friend forever.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 27, 2012 in Books I'm Reading, e-publishing

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “My First E-Book Experience

  1. Kylie Kaden

    December 28, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    Classic! I wonder if they considered that use in the design hmm….Often the loo is the only place you get to be alone when you’re a mum, so you have to make the most of every mo!

    I too was a lucky recipient of the (non-touch version) Kindle from Hubby. I am hearing ya about the touch screen. I am used to it on the ipad and wonder why the Kindle doesn’t respond when I use it like one! It is cool though. I like the idea of having a lifetime of books in the palm of my hand. A little like a security blanket.

    I will have to add HBOB to my list when it launches! Can’t wait.

     
    • Lily Malone

      December 28, 2012 at 2:13 pm

      Hi Kylie
      Yes I definitely wish now I’d gone for the touchscreen version, but it’s my own fault. I did say ‘no bells and whistles.’
      Cheers
      Lily M.

       

Leave a Reply

 
