RSS

Release Day! How Lucky Am I?

01 Mar

March 1, 2013.

R-Day…

No – nothing to do with R Patz.

It’s Release Day for me, my debut novel His Brand Of Beautiful officially launched into cyberspace today.

So has my world changed? No. It was a day that began like any other since the end of January. (I’m still gatecrashing at my sister’s place until next week).

My youngest son announced a chirpy Good Morning before 6am (eek!); and then it was all systems go. Breakfast for two boys, school for one. We had a chook escapade on the property today which required all hands on deck to round-up 14 hens and a rooster all hell-bent on escaping their coop. My eldest son is fascinated by all things chooks and I have a horrible sneaky suspicion that he may have been the little blighter that lifted the latch on their pen… (In his defence, I would add he has denied this vehemently).

Between school drop off at 9, and work that started at 10, I managed to duck upstairs to my borrowed (sister’s) computer and check Facebook… Lo and behold, I’m not the only person on the planet releasing a book today! Jenn McLeod has House For All Seasons out, and Juanita Kees has Under The Hood. There are Facebook events and invitations and emails and comments and likes and shares and… it’s like having a birthday, Christmas and a baby all in one. Something like that. Lots and lots of congratulations and good wishes. It’s invigorating!

So – some other interesting things about today. I’ve had heaps of views and visits to my website, certainly far more than normal. My visitor stats have passed the 2000 mark. I’m laying some of the kudos for this at the feet of The Age newspaper, and the Brisbane Times, who have both had articles about romance writing and romance reading on their online entertainment pages, and thanks to whatever lucky stars are flying around and looking out for me today, they have picked the His Brand Of Beautiful cover as an illustration for the story. Talk about wonderful publicity!

So tonight? I think it will be champagne… with oven-grilled fish (Birdseye variety), zucchini bake (my variety) and chips (probably McCain variety)… because this is a busy house and it’s a Friday and all of us (my sister and me) will be thinking: bugger cooking!

Happy Long Weekend (Labour day here in West Australia) and happy release day to all authors with a new book for release today. See AUTHOR!! It’s official – now I can say it!

And if you fancy a long weekend with a book called His Brand Of Beautiful: about a woman on a mission and a man who wants nothing to do with her (until he wants everything to do with her); and a book with truckloads of Aussie scenery and boatloads of Aussie wine… click here!

 

 

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 1, 2013 in Marketing and promotion, News

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Release Day! How Lucky Am I?

  1. Cate Ellink

    March 1, 2013 at 6:32 pm

    Sounds like you had a super day, Lily. Congratulations!!!! Brilliant that your cover caused such publicity. Hope it results in mega sales. I’m waiting for my pre-ordered book to appear magically on my iPad. Looking forward to it 🙂

    Cate xo

     
    • Lily Malone

      March 1, 2013 at 8:30 pm

      Oh! You ordered it! Cate you’re a legend. I hope you enjoy it. Those words sound a bit trite – but I *really* hope you enjoy it… xx

       
  2. Jenn J McLeod | Come home to the country...

    March 1, 2013 at 9:52 pm

    OMG! IAM SOOOOOO THRILLED FOR YOU! 2,000 hits Woot! I am only just catching up with everything on FB. What a day. I am so not going to get to read you book any time soon. But it’s sitting here waiting. So happy for you.

     
    • Lily Malone

      March 1, 2013 at 10:47 pm

      Thanks Jenn.
      The Age and Brisbane Times was great. I’m a lucky girl.
      Cheers
      Lily M

       
  3. Tamara Gill

    March 1, 2013 at 11:55 pm

    Congratulations on your release, Lily!!!! I hope you’re enjoying every moment of it and are celebrating in style. Hugs. xx

     
  4. Kerrie Paterson

    March 3, 2013 at 5:06 pm

    You sure know how to celebrate, Lily 🙂 (I’m afraid that would be me too!) Congratulations on the release – I’ve just bought it and can’t wait to read it!!

     
  5. Lily Malone

    March 3, 2013 at 8:52 pm

    Thanks Tam & Kerrie.
    It’s hard right now to concentrate on the next thing (Next Big Thing or otherwise) – it’s very distracting trying not to hunt out reviews or mentions or rankings or (all the rest of it).
    Tam knows it and Kerrie – I’m certain you’ll know all about it, too.
    Cheers ladies,
    Lily M

     

Leave a Reply

 
