RSS

How I write: Like, right now, not at all

24 Feb

This little meme has been doing the rounds for a while now, it’s a ‘pass it on’ kind of post about how a gal (or boy) author, writes. I was asked by Jennie Jones and Susanne Bellamy to be part of the blog, but I was a bit busy back then because I’d just *ahem* released my new book, Fairway To Heaven.

me & sof

Sandra Antonelli, alias ‘Old Bitey’, alias ‘CookieFace’ and I bet there are more…

So when Sandra Antonelli tagged me last week and said such lovely things about my work (she did, true, she said my books were “witty and enchanting and made her want to drink wine”) I said I’d love to!

First, a teensy bit about Miss Sandra (also known as Sandra CookieFace Antonelli who is one-sixth of the naughty ninjas). Sandra will not mind one teensy bit if it’s just teensy, because Sandra is kind of, teensy herself. Lucky she has a great big heart! She’s got two books that I know about, and probably many more that I don’t know about. This is a gal with a helluva lot of aliases!

413ld2mPy3L._SL110_ 517c639Q9QL._SL110_

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And so to the Burning Questions Sandra asked.

  1. What am I working on? *shuffles shoes* *takes beanie off* *puts beanie back on* and admits… I am not working on anything right now, at all. I have the biggest, most severe case of Writer’s Block you’ve ever seen. I’m more blocked than Elvis ever was. If I have to pick something, then it’s a book I’m calling “His Brand Of Business” which as anyone who visits here often will know, is a follow-up, though not with related characters, to my Escape Title His Brand Of Beautiful. But I am so struggling to get any words on the page… woe, woe, woe.
  2. How does my work differ from others of its genre? My characters drink a lot. In Fairway To Heaven, lily2my heroine has a dodgy vagina (her words, not mine). Her goal throughout the book is to have ‘normal, every day sex’ rather than multiple orgasms – because she has a physical problem that makes sex damn hard work most of the time. So yeah, I guess that’s different for a romance!
  3. Why do I write what I do? I love sport and I love wine, so it makes sense that I’m writing about golf and wine.
  4. How does my writing process work? See question 1. Right now, it doesn’t work at all. Particularly when I’m starting off, I need a lot of peace and quiet and just time to ruminate and write. I have two small boys and a husband and we’re currently building a house, plus I work four hours a day, each weekday. Time. Time. Time. I don’t seem to have it. Once I’m into something I can be very disciplined (which helped me release 3 books in 2013); but getting started is the hard part for me. I am Lily ‘The Beanie Queen’ of procrastination.

Okay! That’s the end of my part in the process.

kaden-col-058-e1379076688546-300x168

Kylie Kaden. Isn’t she the most gorgeous thing you’ve ever seen!

Now I get to pass this mystical baton to the wonderful Kylie Kaden, she who is about to be a newly published Random House author in April with her mysterious and haunting book, Losing Kate. I am so looking forward to Kylie’s story. We are critique partners, and when I first read Losing Kate, it was under an entirely different name. There was a line in Kylie’s story in the early pages which was about the character Meg, a neighbour of the heroine, and it said something like: “Meg comes to my place with her sticky brood of boys…” I will never forget how the ‘sticky brood of boys’ grabbed me and some little lightglobe in my head went off and I thought *this* is a writer I will love!

51KSz--WcoL._AA160_Congratulations Kylie. I cannot wait to cyber-celebrate Losing Kate with you in April, and I look forward to the next time we catch up in person!

 

Tags: ,

10 responses to “How I write: Like, right now, not at all

  1. ASandraAntonelli

    February 24, 2014 at 9:26 am

    Now I feel guilty and responsible for your blockage. Yes, I am that powerful. Perhaps wine would help?

     
  2. ASandraAntonelli

    February 24, 2014 at 9:40 am

    Reblogged this on Sandra Antonelli and commented:
    The Monday Meme goes on. Lilly Malone passes the torch (or buck) to Kylie Kaden.

     
  3. Cate Ellink

    February 24, 2014 at 10:27 pm

    Hi Lily,
    I feel like I haven’t commented here for yonks! Sorry for neglecting you.

    If you’re the Beanie Queen of Procrastination, I’m pigtails of procrastination. I’m also stalled on a start. I hate starts. I hate working out which new story to work on. It’s really difficult.

    Before I came visiting, I just wrote my Sunday blog post committing myself to a story, hoping it might kick start me. So let’s see how I go with my commitment. Maybe now you’ve said what you’re going to write, it will start happening for you too. Well, we can both dream, huh?

    Happy writing, or ruminating!

    Cate xox

     
  4. Kerrie Paterson

    February 26, 2014 at 10:34 pm

    I’m assuming you’ve tried all the regular ideas? Only commit to writing 100 words / day, try writing longhand, free-write, write upside down while hanging from the chandeliers?! Good luck finding the words. Mine have started again – they’re just very slow…

     
    • Lily Malone

      February 26, 2014 at 11:01 pm

      Thanks Kerrie, and thanks Cate.
      I’ve actually had a bit of success this week – just trying half-hour stints after I’ve come back from the school drop-off and before ‘real’ work. On a walk tonight, I think I solved a major plot dilemma… I feel like it’s not far away.
      Thanks for the support!

      xx

       
  5. Kylie Kaden

    February 27, 2014 at 4:09 pm

    Oh Beanie girl, you are far too kind! It has been fabulous sharing this journey with you. Better get stuck into my blog!? All the best with Fairway!

     
  6. Cate Ellink

    February 27, 2014 at 4:31 pm

    Oh, I haven’t tried the hanging upside down from the chandelier! Gosh, why haven’t I tried that yet!?!?

    Thanks Kerrie 🙂

    Cate xo

     
  7. Jenn J McLeod | Simmering Season

    March 9, 2014 at 9:22 pm

    I hope we all get to procrastinate over wine long and hard at RWA in August! Jenn (cuontry pub dweller!)

     

Leave a Reply

 
