RSS

Lily’s new writing room!

19 Jul

I’ve been quiet on the blog, but I’ve had very good reason. You see, we’ve been moving house. Our new house in Margaret River that we’ve been building since November 2013 is now finished… and I LOVE IT!

Because this is a writing blog, not a house-building blog, I won’t go into all the reasons *why* I love it, except to say this is the second house we’ve built from scratch, and if you count a big renovation we did on an 1890s cottage in Hahndorf about 10 years ago, then really it counts as the third time around. One would like to think one improves at the home building caper, just like one hopes to improve on writing… (notice the segue??)

The most wonderful thing about my new house (besides the Eastern Blackbutt floor which is just the best) is my new writing room. Yes! After about 5 years, I have dedicated writing space that is not a couch, nor a chair in a corner, nor the kitchen table, nor a bench outside, nor my lap, nor my bed.

A writing room. With an honest to goodness desk and my laptop.

P1020344Now do not be fooled by the guitar cases in the corner. Those are hubby’s, and from time to time he makes noise along these lines: “It’s not just your writing room you know. It could be my music room too.”

To which I say: “Ha! Fat chance, buster… find your own special space to be creative!”

I even have a view! And it will be a nicer view when I have cleaned the windows. (Or hired a minion to clean the windows).P1020345

And I have plants! Thanks mum!

One day I will also have paintings, and non-white walls. I’m thinking some kind of creative, relaxing green. Any suggestions on what colour I should paint my writing room for maximum recharge and creativity?

P1020346Now, I just have to get writing again! Today is a perfect day. It’s raining and there’s even been thunder, but it is so very still outside, it is magic. It’s like the whole world here (including the frogs in the nearby creek) are all waiting for me to sit down, and just do it!

So I just might!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on July 19, 2014 in News

 

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “Lily’s new writing room!

  1. writenote1

    July 19, 2014 at 2:21 pm

    It’s a lovely writing space, Lily.

     
  2. Jenn J McLeod | Simmering Season

    July 19, 2014 at 3:06 pm

    Brilliant. Nice segue. Great space. That room is going to be fantastic. One day I want to see that writing space mid edits, deadline looming, publisher banging on your door!!!! 😉

     
    • Lily Malone

      July 19, 2014 at 3:22 pm

      On the Calingarry Crossing Pub Questionnaire scale of 1 to 10. I’m currently an exceedingly neat 10, Jenn! Seriously cannot wait for that caravan to come and invade my space. I will even make clafoutis for you! 😉

       
  3. Louise Allan

    July 19, 2014 at 3:24 pm

    That’s beautiful! What I really want to know is why, after building one house from scratch, you CHOSE to put yourself through it again. Is it like childbirth where you forget how bad it was the first time around until you’re in the throes of it again? Anyway, well done you!

     
  4. elizabethellencarter

    July 19, 2014 at 3:30 pm

    Thank you for sharing Lily – I love those blackbutt floors! Your place is looking gorgeous! Congratulations and looking to see more great stories from that space. 🙂

     
  5. cateellink

    July 19, 2014 at 6:48 pm

    Oh, Lily, that space is absolutely gorgeous. I love your plants and plant table. The floor and desk are stunning. The rest of the house must be stunning. Well done you!!

    Cate xo

     
  6. Juanita Kees

    July 19, 2014 at 10:25 pm

    I look forward to reading the lovely stories you create in your new writing room! ❤ Hope you have many happy years in your new home.

     
  7. kerriepaterson

    July 19, 2014 at 10:35 pm

    Looks gorgeous, gorgeous! 🙂 Enjoy!!

     
  8. JennieJonesRomance

    July 20, 2014 at 10:14 am

    Now I can picture you writing! I’ve just painted my new study a lovely green and it’s wonderful! Gentle and inspiring.

     
  9. Kylie Kaden

    July 20, 2014 at 3:13 pm

    What a lovely place you’ve created – well deserved. A start of wonderful new beginnings. Have a virtual house warming drink for me (no duress required I am sure) ps Blue. Blue. Blue.

     

Leave a Reply

 
